The Day I Started Living

image-11

It was at the place in the above photo at 25 years of age, I started living.  For 25 years I merely exsisted on this planet.  I have been blessed with an amazing family, who are always willing to help and guide me any way they can.  However, there are somethings that you have to do for yourself.  Finding who you are and what you want, is one of those things.  In this amazing, vibrant, once-in-a-lifetime moment everything clicked for me.

BEFORE YOU GO FORWARD YOU HAVE TO GO BACK…..

In October of 2011, I lost my Grandmother to cancer.  When she died I didn’t know what to do with myself.  Its a hard thing to lose a person who you had seen at least once a week for 24 years.  I have no idea how my grandfather handled it all. Nine months later, July of 2012 I lost my other pillar.  My grandfather had a heart attack and passed away as well.   By now you can imagine I was in a very low place.  I was surrounded by family and friends, people who loved me.  It didn’t change the way I was feeling.    I was stagnant.  I was in a rut that I hadn’t realized I had been in for years.  After having to deal with death on such a close scale, I was re-evaluating how I was living my life.   I had no idea who I was, what I wanted out of life, or what my next move would be.

THAT ONE MOMENT….

In that exact spot in Cong, Co. Mayo, I felt peace for the first time in my life.  Looking down that tunnel of bending trees, green leaves and moss, I woke up.  At that moment I felt alive.  Life is too short to run on autopilot.  I decided then and there things were going to change.  I was going to embrace my life and do what makes me happy.  I don’t know how long I stood there trying to make sense of all the thoughts running through my head.  My thoughts seemed scattered, but at the same time it was all making sense.  I finally knew what I wanted.  I wanted to have that feeling of excitement I had when I walked out of the airport in Dublin, to last forever.  I realized I love where I lived, but I wanted to explore and meet people and take chances, and have once in a lifetime experiences.  I wanted to live.  At this moment I knew it was a sign from my grandparents that it was my turn to live my life on my terms.  After having those overwhelming feelings I felt like the world was lifted off of me.  It was okay that I didn’t have a boyfriend, that I wasn’t engaged or married.  It was okay that I wasn’t thinking about having children.  It was okay that I didn’t know what career I wanted.  My job was to live.

NOW…

I am Julia, I am 28 years young.  I am single. I am a traveler. I am a blogger.  I am a dreamer.  I don’t have my life figured out, but I think that is the point.  Your not suppose to figure it out, you just live. My best advice is to embrace your dreams.  Don’t say “I will try tomorrow”, say “I will DO today.” I have a job that I love that is becoming a career.  A job that will allow me to travel and embrace all the experiences I want to have.  I still have an amazing family and great friends.  For now though, I will just live for me on this amazing planet that we call home.

4 thoughts on “The Day I Started Living

  1. Jodie says:

    Your story was inspirational! It’s awesome that you had a pivotal moment that you can pinpoint. For so many people it happens gradually and they don’t recognize it. It’s an amazing adventure you’re on and I’m sure your grandparents are looking down on you and are happy you are chasing your dreams!

Leave a Reply

